Knowing more about Mesa and how to get cheap car insurance mesa az can make life easier. Mesa is considered to be a suburb of Phoenix, the largest city in the state of Arizona. Settlements were founded in the Mesa area by Mormons in the 1870s. The city is considered to be one of the easiest cities to navigate on foot, and Mesa is known for its abundance of parks and open spaces.
Driving Conditions in Mesa
One thing that drivers can look forward to when driving in Mesa is the fact that the city is not known for its congestion or damaged roads. The city of Mesa does not appear on any lists related to long commutes, confusing traffic patterns or seemingly endless construction projects.
Unique Laws in Mesa
Arizona and the city of Mesa do not have any unique or odd driving laws that drivers from other states should take care to observe while driving in the state. However, people who live in the state of Arizona often share a chuckle about a portion of the driver’s manual. This handbook takes care to advise drivers to avoid getting behind the wheel when their emotions are high. Drivers are particularly warned against driving while angry to avoid making poor decisions.
Mesa Crime Statistics
Though in 2015, according to the FBI, 825 vehicles were reported stolen in Mesa, and 11,905 property crimes were reported.
Mesa Vehicle and Driving Safety Requirements
The Governors Highway Safety Association states that aggressive driving laws are in place in Arizona. Drivers in Arizona should be especially careful to avoid tailgating, illegal passing, speeding and failing to yield.
Seat Belt Law
All front-seat occupants of a car in Arizona must wear a seatbelt, and all occupants under age 16 must wear a seat belt, regardless of where they’re sitting. The law goes a step further for any passenger under age 5: They must be sitting in a child safety seat.
All operators and passengers of motorcycles who are under age 18 must wear a helmet.
Distracted Driving Law
In Arizona, teen drivers are barred from texting or otherwise using a cellphone while driving in the first six months after getting a licensed or driving with a learners permit. Other Arizona drivers are allowed to text or talk on cellphones when they’re behind the wheel.
Impaired Driving Law
In Arizona, any driver who’s at least 21 years old will receive a DUI if the blood alcohol content (BAC) is above 0.08 percent. When a law enforcement officer pulls over a driver suspected of DUI, a field sobriety test will be given. If a driver refuses to take the test, that will result in an automatic one-year suspension of his or her driver’s license when it’s a first-time offense. Refusing to take the test will lead to two-year license suspension for a second or third offense.
For a driver under age 21, his or her Arizona license may be suspended if there is any BAC at all.
If convicted of a first-time DUI, you’ll be jailed for at least 10 consecutive days and be fined at least $1,250. In addition, you’ll be required to undergo alcohol treatment and education, install an ignition interlock device and perform community service.
adapted from cheapcarinsurance website
Leave a Comment